Topic: Te Rae o Papamoa (the headland of Papamoa)

Topic type:

The Papamoa Regional Park comprises seven pa sites.

  • Seven pa sites form the Papamoa Hills Regional Park. These include: Papamoa, Te Ihu o Ruarangi, Te Houawe, Te Kaingapakura, Maraeroa (inside the Park), and Karangaumu, Patakitahi, Patangata, Whaaro (outside the Park).
  • Archaeologists estimate that settlement began c. 1650 AD or even earlier. The hills form the boundary between the Mataatua and Te Arawa tribes and the sites have significance to a number of iwi and hapu.
  • The McNaughton family owned and managed the land from the late 1880s to 2007, when the family sold the property to the Tauranga and Western Bay of Plenty District councils and Environment BOP for use as a Regional Park for the enjoyment of the local community.
  • The Management Plan was developed in July 2007 and includes information on the park’s history, the community vision for the park and details the management policies and actions. It is currently managed by the Regional Council.

this page was archived at perma cc march 2017

Discuss This Topic

There are 1 comments in this discussion.

Read and join this discussion

join this discussion

Te Rae o Papamoa (the headland of Papamoa)


Latitude and Longitude coordinates: -37.7329492,176.29820059999997

javascript needs to be on to use Google Maps