Topic: Gate Pā Commemorative Medal (2014)

Topic type:

In 2014, as part of the 150th commemoration of the Battle of Gate Pā at Pukehinahina, the Pukehinahina Charitable Trust organised the creation of 200 Gate Pā Commemorative Medals which were presented to various participants. The medal features enamel on bronze.

Gate Pā Commemorative Medal (2014) awarded to Debbie McCauley Medal front: 150th Commemoration of the Battle of Gate Pa, Tauranga, 1864 (2014, Romans 12:20).

Recipients: (list under construction - please contact Tauranga Memories if you received a medal and your name is not listed here)

  1. Paul Adams (Supporter of the Gate Pa Exhibition)
  2. Pahu Akuhata (Officiated at Commemoration ceremonies)
  3. Rowdy Akuhata (oldest living descendant of Henare Taratoa in attendance at commemorations)
  4. Gillian Ansell (Musician with NZ String Quartet performance)
  5. Willie Apiata VC (Guest speaker at Commemoration dinner)
  6. Rhys Arrowsmith (Sponsor on behalf of Tourism BOP)
  7. Peter Arts (Art Exhibition assistance)
  8. Douglas Beilman (Musician with NZ String Quartet performance)
  9. Ariana Bird (Head Girl at Tauranga Girls who read part of the service at Otamataha)
  10. Te Awanui Black (Haka co-ordinator and leader)
  11. Aine Blackman (Tauranga Girls College essay competition finalist)
  12. Clinton Bowyer (Graphics and poster designs)
  13. Alan Bray (donated the tupara plates from his company NZET Ltd)
  14. Christine Brooks (Co-ordinator speech competition finals at Tauranga Girl’s College)
  15. Jeff Burgess (Concrete Sponsor for Pukehinahina pou and flagpole)
  16. David Clayton-Green (Landscape work on Te Ranga reserve)
  17. Alison Clifford (Co-ordination work for Poetry, Essay and Speech competitions)
  18. Simon Collett (Chair, Pukehinahina Charitable Trust)
  19. Peter Cooney (Sponsor for project management work on Pukehinahina flag pole)
  20. Tereora Crane (Design work on Battle of Gate Pa Exhibition)
  21. John Darke (Readings at Commemoration Service at Otamataha/Mission Cemetery)
  22. Kayla Dawson (Speech competition Finalist)
  23. Mary Dillon (Board member Battle of Gate Pa Exhibition)
  24. Ian Dustin (Art competition assistant)
  25. Warren Dwight (Sponsor) 
  26. Monseigneur Frank Eggleton (Commemoration Service participant)
  27. Peter Farmer (Sponsor - Pukehinahina Flag Pole)
  28. Bruce Galloway (Traffic Management planning)
  29. Lisa Gardiner (Secretary for Iwi organising committee)
  30. Rolf Gjelsten (Musician with NZ String Quartet performance)
  31. Kalais Going (Essay competition finalist)
  32. June Grant (Art competition Judge)
  33. Simon Green (Chef - Commemoration dinner)
  34. Eric Happe (Manager Department of Corrections workers group)
  35. John Hebenton (Vicar at St George’s Church – involved in many aspects of the commemorations including participating in the commemoration service)
  36. Ben Hemi (Event Co-ordinator)
  37. Kevin Herewini Army Chaplain (Te Ranga)
  38. Phillip Hikairo (Catering organiser Pukehinahina and Te Ranga)
  39. Peter Hodge (Recordings of readings of Gate Pa poem competition entries)
  40. Maureen Hope (St George’s Church catering and other arrangements)
  41. Brian Hunt (Sponsor of scaffolding for Church Hall refurbishment)
  42. Puhirake Ihaka (Pukehinahina Charitable Trust Board member)
  43. Joelene James (Advertising sponsorship - MediaWorks)
  44. Fiona Kean (Judge Essay competition)
  45. Peri Kohu (Pukehinahina Charitable Trust Board Member)
  46. Fr Richard Laurenson (Te Ranga service)
  47. Fraser Lellman (Pukehinahina Charitable Trust Board Member)
  48. Angela Logan-Wyatt (St George’s Church catering and other arrangements)
  49. Alastair Melvin (Family Trust contribution)
  50. Emily McCarthy (Poetry competition winner)
  51. Debbie McCauley (Helpful person extraordinaire)
  52. Margot McCool (Sponsor (Acorn Foundation) Illustrations Exhibition)
  53. Buddy Mikaere (Commemoration organiser)
  54. Penny Mitropoulos (Commemoration organiser for Tauranga City Council)
  55. Terry Molloy (Chair, Gate Pa Trust)
  56. James Muir (Member Gate Pa Trust; Extraordinary volunteer contribution)
  57. Jens Muller (Pukehinahina Charitable Trust Board member) 
  58. Richard Nelson (ANZ Bank speech competition judge)
  59. Tawharangi Nuku (Junior Art Competition kaumatua)
  60. John Osborne (Tupara and artillery adviser)
  61. Vincent O'Sullivan (Judge, Poetry competition)
  62. Brian Oxley (Toastmasters; speaker at speech competition awards)
  63. Bronwin Pistorious (Assistance with Commemoration dinner arrangements and other events at Trinity Wharf)
  64. Helen Pohl (Musician NZ String Quartet)
  65. Charlie Rahiri (MC Commemoration Day; catering Te Ranga)
  66. Maraea Ranui (Tauranga Girls College – speech competition winner)
  67. Tawhai Rickard (Senior Winner, Gate Pa Art Competition)
  68. Tom Roa (Kingitanga and Tainui representative)
  69. David Rorke (recipient on behalf of the family of the late Jinty Rorke)
  70. Lt Col Julian Sewell (NZ Army representative)
  71. Kesson Sharp (Refurbishment work St George’s church and church hall)
  72. Stephen Short (Coast Papamoa sponsorship)
  73. Cliff Simons (Pukehinahina Trust Board member)
  74. Alan Sizemore (Tauranga City Council Parks and Reserves)
  75. Rehua Smallman (Breakfast Catering 29 April 2014)
  76. Ngairo Tapiata Smith (Head Boy Te Wharekura O Mauao - reader commemoration service Otamataha)
  77. Paula Smith (Mount Maunganui College Essay Competition finalist)
  78. Stephanie Smith (Essay competition Judge; brochure co-ordination)
  79. Tim Solomona (Supervision of the refurbishing of the St George Hall project) 
  80. Shane Southby (ANZ Sponsor representative)
  81. Ross Stanaway (Pukehinahina Trust Board member)
  82. James Tapiata (Pukehinahina and Te Ranga pou carver)
  83. Des Tata (Speaker, Gate Pa lecture series)
  84. Charlie Tawhiao (Speech Competition Judge; catering co-ordination) 
  85. Josh Te Kani (Mass haka tutor and co-ordinator)
  86. Jack Thatcher (Mass haka tutor and co-ordinator)
  87. Whare Thompson (Master carver - pou and other carving work at Pukehinahina)
  88. Felicity Tomkins (Tauranga Girls College – speech competition finalist)
  89. Sarah Tulloch (Pukehinahina Trust Board Member)
  90. Tayla Turner-Paki (Tauranga Girl’s College essay competition finalist)
  91. Danielle Waiari (Tauranga Girl’s College speech competition finalist)
  92. Steve Webb (Council Manager responsible for Gate Pa Reserve revamp)
  93. Justice Joe Williams (Keynote speaker - Pukehinahina Commemoration)
  94. Tommy Wilson (Commemoration supporter; member Gate Pa Trust)
  95. Student: St Thomas Aquinas (participant Te Ranga Service)
  96. Student: St Thomas Aquinas (participant Te Ranga Service)

Gate Pā Commemorative Medal (2014) awarded to Debbie McCauleyMedal back: Presented by the Pukehinahina Charitable Trust. Thank you.

Discuss This Topic

There are 0 comments in this discussion.

join this discussion

Gate Pā Commemorative Medal (2014)